Missouri Concealed Carry Pistol
8 hours of Basic Handgun Safety & Handling
Missouri law requires 8 hours of instruction for up to 40 students, which includes classroom time extensively covering Missouri carry laws and those pertaining to justifiable use of force. Also covered is safe gun handling, storage, cleaning, and ammunition types. A live fire exercise is conducted, which includes shooting 20 out of a semi-auto or revolver at a B27 silhouette. Lasts 8 hours.
Ammunition: 50 rounds
Phase 1 (AM) –No Live Fire, classroom only.
Phase 2 (PM) – 50 rounds of caliber of choice
CAN I CARRY?
This law became effective August 28, 2014
Missouri’s concealed carry law provides recognition of concealed weapons endorsements from every state that issues them. Below is a map and a list showing which states recognize Missouri concealed-carry endorsements.
Map showing concealed carry reciprocity with Missouri
Does Not Recognize Missouri Permits
Recognizes Missouri without Written Agreement
Recognizes Missouri Permits Issued or Renewed after 8/28/13
Recognizes Missouri Permits if Permit Holder is 21 Years of Age or Older
STATES HONORING A MISSOURI ENDORSEMENT TO CARRY A CONCEALED WEAPON:
STATES NOT HONORING A MISSOURI ENDORSEMENT TO CARRY A CONCEALED WEAPON:
CONCEAL CARRY LAW LINKS
Health care professionals not required to disclose patient firearm information, when.
Ownership of firearms records, closed records–violation, penalty.
Unlawful refusal to transfer by denying sale of a firearm to a non licensee, crime of–violation, penalty–inapplicability, when.
Open display of firearm permitted
Unlawful transfer of weapons, penalty.
Fraudulent purchase of a firearm, crime of–definitions–penalty–exceptions.
Concealed carry permits, application requirements–approval procedures–issuance, when–information on permit–fees.
Suspension or revocation of endorsements and permits, when–renewal procedures–change of name or residence notification requirements.
Permit does not authorize concealed firearms, where–penalty for violation:
Firearms training requirements–safety instructor requirements–penalty for violations.
Denial of application, appeal procedures.
Revocation procedure for ineligible permit holders–sheriff’s immunity from liability, when.
Duty to carry and display permit, penalty for violation–director of revenue immunity from liability, when.
List of persons who have obtained a concealed carry endorsement or permit, no disclosure to federal government.
Use of physical force in defense of property.
Private person’s use of force in making an arrest.
Use of force to prevent escape from confinement.
Use of force by persons with responsibility for care, discipline or safety of others.
Justification as an absolute defense, when.
CCW COURSE SUBJECT
The following technique and concepts will be introduced at a reasonable pace for the maximum retention
Concealed Carry Classroom
Discussion and practical application of carrying pistol in a concealed manner will be covered
Live Fire & Qual
Students are introduced to the concept of CCW tactics via practical application. Scenario based training will be provided
- Full/Compact Semi Auto Pistol (9mm, 40 cal., 45 cal.)
- Ammunition (Students must provide own ammo)
- Sturdy belt
- Magazines (2 recommended)
- Magazine pouch (holds to magazines)
- Dummy Rounds (5 minimum)
- Eye protection (Prefer clear with no color – some tint is acceptable)
- Ear protection (both outer and inner protections are recommended)
- Works gloves
- Cap or Hat (highly recommended)
- Appropriate attire for weather & flying hot brass
- Marking Pen (Sharpies)
- Water and snacks (also available on-site for purchase)
- Gun bag/case to store and transport firearms